Zones in Chennai corporation to soon increase to 22 – Times of India

Chennai News
CHENNAI: From the existing 15 zones the Greater Chennai Corporation will soon have 22 zones sharing the boundaries of assembly constituencies.
Municipal administration minister KN Nehru said the zones will be redrawn along the lines of assembly constituencies. “There will be more zonal officers and engineers will be deployed to the newer zones as per requirements. This will help address civic issues faster,’ said corporation commissioner Gagandeep Singh Bedi.

As of now, he said, Kodambakkam zone stretches from Saidapet to Koyambedu, the Teynampet zone from Marina to Aminjikarai and the Tiru Vi Ka Nagar zone from Pulianthope to Kolathur. “One zone covers vast areas now. This will change,” Bedi added. Zone 5 (Royapuram) begins at Royapuram and goes all the way to Egmore, making it hard for officials to ensure resolution of civic issues uniformly to all parts. Apart from easing administrative work, this will also boost political representation for the newer zones as now there will be seven new zonal chairmen.
Thousand Lights MLA Dr N Ezhilan said he mooted the idea to delimit the zones after he had taken charge. “My constituency covers Nungambakkam, Thousand Lights and Teynampet. My administration will get easier if it becomes one unit,” said Ezhilan.
Anna Nagar resident Sandhya said this will help know which MLA to contact for their issues to get addressed. “It is a good move. The ambit of the MLA will be clear,” she said.
However, OMR resident Sathish Galley said, “It is a herculean task if it is done constituency wise. For example, Sholinganallur is covered by two zones (14 and 15) but if both zones are combined for the Sholinganallur constituency, the zone becomes huge,” he said.
“If the corporations give more powers to regional deputy commissioners, it will be more than enough to run the present set up,” he added.