Thundershowers likely in Chennai, IMD issues yellow alert for three days – Times Now

Chennai News

Chennai rain.

Chennai: Several areas in Tamil Nadu’s capital city received light to moderate rain on Monday morning and the spell is expected to continue. The India Meteorological Department (IMD) has issued a yellow alert for three days as the city is likely to receive thundershowers from Tuesday.
The latest round of rain is due to a weather system developed over the Indian Ocean hundreds of miles away from the coast. The rain is unlikely to intensify into a very heavy spell in Chennai but it is likely to prevail for a long time.

As per the latest district-wise warnings by IMD, the city has been placed the city under yellow alert on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday.

Related News

“The sky condition is likely to be partly cloudy and light to moderate rain is likely to occur in some areas of the city. Thunderstorms and lightning are likely,” the IMD said in its latest five-day forecast.

Yellow warning has been issued by the IMD
Yellow warning has been issued by the IMD.

According to the weather department, the low-pressure area that has formed over the east equatorial Indian Ocean and adjoining southeast Bay of Bengal on early Friday morning is likely to move towards Sri Lanka. It is likely to intensify into a depression.

Due to the formation, “Tamil Nadu’s coastal districts, adjoining districts and Puducherry, Karaikal areas may experience light to moderate rain with thundershower at a few places from 30 January to February 2,’ the IMD added.

Related News

According to Mahesh Palawat, a senior weather expert at the private forecasting agency Skymet Weather, the rains “May last for long and will not be heavy. More impact will be over the delta and south coastal districts.

The minimum temperature in the city is likely to settle around 22 degree Celsius while the maximum mercury level will likely to touch 31 degrees Celsius over the next week.

Apart from Chennai, rain is predicted in Tiruvallur, Chengalpattu, Cuddalore, Tiruvarur, Thanjavur, Nagapattinam and Ramanathapuram districts.